Tuesday, August 01, 2006

DVB-T broadcasting in 114 territories

Hong Kong -- From the recently concluded ITU’s Regional Radiocommunication Conference (RRC-06) the Digital Video Broadcasting project based in Geneva is able to tally the status of DVB-T, the terrestrial standard for television in territories across the world.

Worldwide some 114 countries have launched DVB-T or plan to.

The RRC-06 conference aimed to create a frequency plan and associated coordination agreements for an all digital environment based exclusively on DVB-T.

To date, there are numerous broadcast services using DVB standards. There are hundreds of manufacturers offering DVB compliant equipment, which is already in use around the world. DVB dominates the digital broadcasting world.

DVB-T Status By Country

DVB-T Launched

Albania Andorra Australia Belgium Croatia Czech Republic Faroe Islands Finland France Germany Greece Italy Lithuania Malta Mauritius Namibia Netherlands Russian Federation Singapore Spain Sweden Switzerland United Kingdom

DVB-T Launch Imminent Austria Denmark Norway

DVB-T Formally Adopted

Bosnia and Herzegovina Brunei Bulgaria Burma (Myanmar) Cyprus Hungary Iceland India Iran Ireland Latvia Luxembourg Macedonia Malaysia New Zealand Poland Portugal Romania Serbia and Montenegro Slovakia Slovenia Sri Lanka Turkey Vietnam

DVB-T Pilot Broadcasts On-going

Azerbaijan Belarus China Estonia Israel Moldova South Africa Thailand

Commercial Trials Argentina

RRC'06 Participant - DVB-T in future

Algeria Angola Armenia Azerbaijan Bahrain Botswana Burkina Faso Burundi Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Comoros Union Congo (Republic of) Côte d'Ivoire Democratic Rep of Congo Djibouti Egypt Gabonese Republic Gambia Ghana Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kuwait Kyrgyz Republic Lebanon Lesotho Libya Liechtenstein Madagascar Malawi Mali Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nigeria Oman Qatar Rwanda San Marino Saudi Arabia Senegal Somalia Sudan Swaziland Syria Tanzania Togolese Republic Tunisia Turkey Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uzbekistan Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

The DVB Project

The Digital Video Broadcasting Project (DVB) is an industry-led consortium of over 250 broadcasters, manufacturers, network operators, software developers, regulatory bodies and others in over 35 countries committed to designing global standards for the delivery of digital television and data services. The DVB standards cover all aspects of digital television from transmission through interfacing, conditional access and interactivity for digital video, audio and data. The consortium came together in 1993 to create unity in the march towards global standardisation, interoperability and future proofing.


[It is worthwhile noting that ATSC is in use in the USA; Canada and South Korea. ISDB-T in is Japan and Brazil. Taiwan committed to ATSC, but is supportive of DVB.]

No comments: