Sunday, January 28, 2007

Digital Broadcasters | RTM Malaysia | Short Film Winners 2006

Malaysia: Digital Broadcasters Vendor News notes that the Short Film Awards jointly organised by state broadcaster, Radio Televisyen Malaysia (RTM) and 'Filem Negara Malaysia', will be made an annual event.

The announcement was made at the 2006 event held in Kuala Lumpur, January 27.

"Geng:The Beginning" a short movie, directed by Mohd Anas Abdul Aziz, was named as the overall winner of the Short Film Award 2006.

It also won the Best Animation Film category, and Mohd Anas was named the Best Animation Director in the inaugural AFP awards meant to recognise young talents and nurture their creativity.

A total of 30 films were shortlisted for the nominations from 227 films.

The awards were presented by Information Minister Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin at the Angkasapuri's Auditorium Perdana and telecast live over the TV1 channel of Radio Television Malaysia (RTM).

The AFP 2006 recognised excellence in seven aspects of short film making, namely length, cinematography, lighting, arts, editing, sound and music score, in addition to giving awards to six film categories, experimental, documentary, animation, advertisement, public service and comedy.

As informed to Digital Broadcasters Vendor News: a Bernama New Agency report said that the original idea for the Malaysia Short Film Awards came from Malaysia Information Minister, Zainuddin.

No comments: