Sunday, December 24, 2006

Digital Broadcasters | All India Radio | No More Community Stations

Digital Broadcasters Vendor News reports that in the Rajya Sabha, India's Parliament in a written reply to a question, the Minister of Information & Broadcasting and Parliamentary Affairs, Shri P. R. Dasmunsi said on December 8 that five community radio stations have been set up by All India Radio (AIR): two in Meghalaya, two in Nagaland and one in Mizoram.

The Minister said that AIR was not inititing further proposals for community radio stations.

The reason being that the Indian Government had liberalized the policy for granting permission to set up "non-profit" community radio stations.

This category includes any organisation in Civil Society that is a Voluntary such as State Agricultural Universities, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) Institutions, Krishi Vigyan Kendras, Registered Societies and Autonomous Bodies and Public Trusts registered under the Societies Act or any other such act relevant for the purpose in addition to the educational institutions.

For more details on community radio policy in India, Digital Broadcasters Vendor News recommends you visit the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting website,

No comments: